How It Works: Getting a NC Concealed Carry Permit

In North Carolina, there is a growing interest in obtaining a concealed carry handgun permit, also known as a CCH permit. The number of CCH permits issued in the state has increased significantly since 2000, reaching 604,737 as of March 2019, ranking it 10th in the country. Along with this expansion, the state’s population has risen from 8 million to 10.2 million.

Individuals must be 21 years of age or older and either a U.S. citizen or have permanent legal residence in the United States to be eligible for a CCH permit. They must also pass a background check and a mental health records screening. Taking a concealed carry class is the first step in obtaining a CCH permit.

The concealed carry class, which is required for obtaining a CCH permit, is intended to educate individuals on how to carry and handle a concealed handgun properly. The class discusses the dos and don’ts of concealed carry, as well as the laws and restrictions that apply.

The law in North Carolina mandates that these classes must be at least 8-hours of classroom instruction plus range time. The one-day classes are usually held on weekends and are popular because they are convenient.

Students will spend several hours in a classroom where an instructor will cover the laws and restrictions of concealed carrying, including information such as use of force, when and where carrying concealed is permitted, and the fact that carrying with even a trace of alcohol in the system is illegal.

During the CCH Class, students are taught valuable information to ensure the safety of them and the general public.  At some point during the class, students spend time on the range demonstrating their ability to use a handgun safely and accurately.  At the conclusion of the CCH Class, students will take a written legal exam, which they must also pass to be issued a certificate of completion.  Once the certificate of training is obtained, the student will be able to apply for a CCH permit.

After completing your concealed carry course, you must apply for a permit at your county’s sheriff’s office. For example, the sheriff’s office in Jacksonville is located at 717 Court St, Jacksonville, NC 28540. Before visiting in person, you can schedule an appointment online by going to the Sheriff’s webpage at  and clicking on Concealed Handgun Permit Application. At the time of this writing, the permit application fee is $90.00, plus a $3.44 credit card processing fee and a $5.00 convenience fee, for a total of $98.44.

You must bring your CCH class certificate and driver’s license to your scheduled appointment. If you were not born in the United States, you may be required to bring additional documentation; please check with the sheriff’s office for more information. After you have presented all of the required documents, the sheriff’s office will ask you to fill out paperwork, take fingerprints, and then begin process your application for the CCH Permit.

It’s important to remember that after applying for a permit, the sheriff’s office will conduct a thorough background check, which can take 45-90 days. The background check includes a mental health assessment as well as verification of criminal offenses committed within the five years preceding the application. The outcome of the background check will vary depending on the county in which you live. In some cases, you will be notified via text or email that your permit is ready, and you will need to pick it up in person at the sheriff’s office.

CCH permits in North Carolina are a small piece of paper, similar to a business card. Because they are easily damaged by water, it is recommended that they be laminated. The sheriff’s office or you can do it yourself. As long as you follow the laws, you are legally allowed to carry a concealed handgun once you have obtained the permit. The permit is valid in every county in the state. It is important to note that the permit must be renewed every 5 years; otherwise, the process of obtaining a permit must be repeated by enrolling in a concealed carry class.